• Question: What is your daily routine like (eg- when do you wake up, when do you go to work, when do you get home, go to sleep?) ?

    Asked by Goldie264 to Stewart, Miriam, Laura, David on 16 Nov 2018.
    • Photo: David Ho

      David Ho answered on 16 Nov 2018:


      I normally wake up between 6 and 7 in the morning — I’m quite a morning person nowadays (I wasn’t when I was younger!). Most days I’ll go for a run, swim or cycle before work, and get into work for about 9am. I’ll spend the day calculating, computing, meeting or teaching, and normally finish work between 5pm and 6pm. Then I’ll go home, have some dinner, and read a book or watch TV, or meet up with my friends. My usual bedtime is between 10pm and 11pm, I like to try and get 8 hours of sleep! My work pattern is a bit flexible though, on some days I will work longer hours and other days shorter ones, depending on what I have to do that day

    • Photo: Laura Kent

      Laura Kent answered on 16 Nov 2018:


      During the week, I wake up at 6am because I suddenly became a morning person when I turned 23! I then go to the gym and get to work for 8am. Every day at work is different but I could be in the lab or meetings to discuss projects (new and ongoing). I sometimes go a visit our partners around the country too. At lunch I often go for a walk in Bushy Park which is bect to where I work! There are normally lots of deer around! I get home around 5 and either me or my boyfriend cook dinner. I then watch TV or read my book. I try to see my friends and family as well. I need 8 hours sleep a night so I try to be in bed by 10! That’s a typical day, sometimes I work from home and some days I’m at conferences. So it varies a lot 😊

    • Photo: Miriam Hogg

      Miriam Hogg answered on 16 Nov 2018:


      I normally wake up at 8.30/9 (I’m not a morning person). I live about 45 minutes away from my work so I normally wait until after rush hour and then head in.
      I normally start my day looking at the latest papers that have come out and drinking a cup of tea. At the moment I am writing up a paper so I normally have a look through it to see if I need to change anything, I also check for any changes or notes my supervisor might have made.
      I am also starting my third project so I am sorting out getting a piece of code I need onto the supercomputer I use which is called ALICE. (As of yesterday the code is finally on there and working) and then I will start playing with the code and trying to figure it out so I can use it properly. During the week I will have meetings with my supervisor, go to talks by visitors and assist in labs.
      I normally finish around 5/6 and head home after the rush hour.
      At home I have dinner and then play games or read, then I got to bed around 12/1ish

      Its very flexible though, some days I will work from home, or visit another university. So my hours aren’t set in stone. (for example its 10:00 now and i’m still at home, but I will be heading in soon and probably staying until 6ish as I am teaching in labs from 2-5)

Comments